Book Review: Everything I Never Told You


Title: Everything I Never Told You
Author: Celeste Ng
My Rating: A Bookworm Special 

Well first off let me assure you this is not a book report, it’s my knee jerk response to an impulse buy & impulse read. The only reason I even picked up this book, and I’m not ashamed to say so, is because a) it was on sale and b) the cover piqued my curiosity. I have a history of picking up books with intriguing covers, case in point being the ‘Twilight’ series. Hey those books have some fancy and stark cover art that gives your bookshelf some colour, and is a great distraction to get whiny people off your back.

Going back to the book being discussed here, I must add that the book did catch me by surprise. The plot isn’t an intriguing one and the book isn’t a sequel demanding piece of work. What caught me by surprise and I found to be quite refreshing was the simplicity with which the story was crafted and written. There aren’t too many complicated or fancy words to induce a headache, in fact, the simplicity of the diction used is so sharp and stark that it captures and maintains your interest as you turn  the pages. It’s not an eye-opening story, in fact it’s one that makes you pause, analyze and reflect on the ease with which our minds brush off incidents, conversations, emotions and people. It highlights a line we are in the habit of ignoring and forgetting, but one that our subconscious is constantly aware of. That line happens to be the one between perception and expectation. How easy is it for us to look at someone and perceive them to be a certain way which in turn determines if not confines a certain expectation as a result of that perception.

After reading this book, my mind was reeling with the ease with which we convince ourselves with half truths and lies as a result of fear, hesitation and ignorance as opposed to taking the initiative to truly discover more about those around us. Is it really worth the time we have in this one lifetime to categorize people, as opposed to filling this lifetime with memories of a life well-lived through exploration, discovery, compassion and empathy? Compassion and empathy don’t necessarily mean being the official “Kleenex” supplier or the ‘Agony Aunt’ everyone runs to. It could be the one smile you were responsible for earlier today, or those fun 15 minutes you spent chatting to the person ahead or behind ya while waiting in line for a cuppa tea or coffee.

Celeste Ng, thank you for bringing out the power in simplicity. Very few books have gathered and gripped my attention the way your piece of work did. I am most definitely looking forward to the next tale you weave with your words. And folks, don’t be fooled by the cover. Give it  a read and let me know what you think.

As I mentioned before w.r.t ‘Through The Looking Glass’ series I won’t really be discussing the storyline, plot nor generate a synopsis. I trust Google to give you guys the answers you’re looking for as far as those issues are concerned. Here’s how the Rating system works

Bookworm special – Definitely something you should read
Drifter – Well, your survival and life as you know it doesn’t depend on reading this book, but it does contribute to your vocabulary.
Space Cadet – Drooling and appearing glass eyed are common signs associated with reading this piece of work.

That’s it from me folks, until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

