Short Shot/Writing Spark: Voice-Mail


So this idea popped into my head before I went to bed last night. And…well…I couldn’t really ignore it, because if I do it’ll turn a little more convoluted & complicated than it initially started out. I’m not sure if I would categorize it as a short shot/story, maybe a spark? None the less, this idea kept ruminating in my head and I had to put it down on virtual paper before I went to bed, because knowing me this has the potential of being part of a bigger story or something…and when it happens I’ll welcome it with open arms, but for now at least there’s a digital copy of something lol. Hope everyone is having a good week thus far. Feel free to share your thoughts in that comments box down below.

Voice-Mail

“Hey it’s me yet again…I had no other choice. If this is the only way I can hear your voice, then so be it. I don’t care if I’m directly responsible for filling up your voice mailbox, but to hear your voice again it’s worth it. It’s been 3 weeks, but it feels like a lifetime…How can you live lifetimes in the matter of a few days? By that rationalization then, we age everyday and we’re all much older than what we think we are when we reach old age right? It’s funny, almost ironic even, since I last saw you I have no concept of time anymore. Me the stickler, the one who tracked every minute of my day is no longer a time-keeper but timeless. Every minute of every day without you sucks. There’s this pressure and vacuum in my chest that seems to grow with every passing minute. Every single morning I wake up thinking today that pressure in my chest will dissipate, but it’s growing worse, so I was thinking of going to the ER, my antacids don’t help. I wish you would tell me what to do, you always had the better ideas. I..”

*BEEP* To save your message press 1…to replay your message press 2….to delete your message press 3….to record your message press 4….

Leave a Reply

