Poetry Shenanigans


Light of Darkness

Aah darkness, my kind friend,
Wrap me up in your warm embrace.
I could really use a friend right about
now;
And you’re the oldest one I’ve ever had
And always known.
Where the whispers, jokes,
cackles and sniggers,
They think my bleary, tear filled eyes
can’t see,
Remain non existent…hidden.
Aah darkness, my solitude, my refuge.
Here they have no way to reach me.
No way to grab my shoulders,
Shove me against a wall,
Or leer at me in corners and open spaces.
Aah my kind friend darkness,
Where I can walk, sit and curl up,
Without bowing my head down,
Out of fear, out of sheer embarrassment.
Where my survival doesn’t depend,
On maintaining zero eye contact.
Aah wonderful darkness,
You are all the light left, to guide in these
unholy times and unsavoury places.
Dear darkness, please do me one more
favour,
Engulf me whole and blot the world out
at this time. 

SJ

Leave a Reply

